interview: Hether Fortune


[feature image credit: Bob Nozawa]

A few days ago I caught the Wax Idols/Paperhead/Lilac/The Wrong Words show at Thee Parkside, where the above image was taken courtesy of RINGO. Will Ivy was predictably great; the twee lads of Paperhead were brilliant (seriously — the combined age of the band is almost as many years you need to go back to imagine the genre of music they play). Wax Idols were visceral in a way that insinuated a band midway through a long tour, innervated enough to slug through every song and yet fresh enough to still care (there was no encore — “I don’t have any more songs to play!” pleaded singer Hether Fortune). Except this was the first performance with fully 3/4 of the reshuffled band. We recently talked to Hether about her internationally-loved tumblr and her German collab.

“Bat Cave” is the last song on the “All Too Human” cassette  and features Oliver Scharf of Dresden-based Hanoi Janes on keyboard. The track is reminiscent of another of Jane’s Captured Track labelmates, Beach Fossils. How did you get in touch with Oliver? 

HF: Well, Oliver played guitar/bass on “Bat Cave” (and drums if you count programming fake drums) and I wrote the lyrics/vocals/keyboard/other parts. I’ve never listened to Beach Fossils, so that’s a coincidence! I can’t really remember how Ollie and I got in touch, I think it was just a mutual internet admiration for each other’s music/blogs or something. We started exchanging emails and youtube videos regularly, dorking out over our mutual love for Flying Nun bands, obscure 80s pop/punk, etc. About a year ago we decided to write a song together over the internet just to see if we could pull it off. It turned out pretty cool, anddd that’s about it! Ollie rules. Captured Tracks was supposed to release “Bat Cave” as a single, still waiting for that to actually happen. COUGH COUGH.
.
Thee Parkside was the stage for the first run of the new lineup, which includes Amy Rosenhoff on bass, Jennifer Mundy on guitar, and Keven Tecon on drums. How do you all know each other?
.
HF: We didn’t know each other at all until a few months ago! After I finished recording the LP with my former lineup (they played on about half of it), it was time to find a new band. I put the word out and my friend Tamaryn recommended Amy. Amy and Keven used to play in Veil Veil Vanish together, so they came as a package deal which was a HUGE score. They’ve been in bands together for years. Keven (pronounced KEY-VAN don’t get it twisted) normally plays guitar and was the frontman for VVV, so he has a lot of experience and knowledge to share with me and knows firsthand how important it is for a band to have a SOLID drummer. Jen contacted me on facebook when she saw my post about needing a second guitarist. She ended up being a perfect fit, she’s got such a pretty voice too! I feel really lucky, it only took me like two weeks to replace my ENTIRE band and I couldn’t be happier with the results. They are all super professional, talented, and we’re having a great time together so far. It’s like having a new boyfriend (but better, obviously). I love them!
.
Any updates on the “TBA” LP? Will it be recorded with the new band?
.
HF: It’s called NO FUTURE and it’ll be out via HoZac Records in September/October of this year. It’s definitely my baby and my vision, but the work that Courtney, Ashley [ed: now members of Pamela], and Paul (the previous lineup) put into it is invaluable. I think it’s a great record and I am really proud of it. I can’t wait to share it with yknow, whoever wants to hear it!
.
What’s the inspiration behind your tumblr? You seem to have some faraway admirers.
HF: I just like to use whatever mediums available to express myself and share my thoughts, interests, aesthetics, etc. I have this inexplicable need to speak my mind at all times. Whether it’s ranting about something that makes me angry (happens pretty much every day), giving people a sneak peek of a demo I’m working on, or just posting photos of people/things that interest me – I’m basically just trying to promote myself. LOOK AT ME. I’M HERE. I THINK. I AM. It’s the curse of the internet generation. I should probably stop all of this shit and just start a zine. Something TANGIBLE. Hahaha.
.
You headlined a very impressive bill on Sunday (we were really excited to see Paperhead). When are your next shows? Besides the debut LP, are you working on anything else?
.
HF: Man, Paperhead was killer! That show was fun.

I’m always working on a million things. Right now my priorities are getting the artwork finished for the LP, rehearsing constantly with Wax Idols and my other band Blasted Canyons (our first LP just came out via Castleface Records), and I’m already working on the EP that will follow the WAX IDOLS LP. The working title is LOVE IS THE END and it’ll probably be out in winter/spring of 2012. I also submitted a cover of “Goodbye Again” by WIPERS and some shitty collages I made to a compilation tape/zine to be released courtesy of a UK publishing house called MUSEUMS. Not sure when that’ll be available.

Upcoming shows:
July 21st @ The Knockout w/ BURNT ONES & SLAM DUNK (Canada)
July 29th @ Burger Records in Fullerton, CA w/ TBA
July 30th @ JJRADFEST in San Diego, CA w/ REIGNING SOUND, TOKYO ELECTRON, and TRMRS
July 31st @ The Echo in LA, CA w/ GRASS WIDOW & TERRY MALTS (a Part Time Punks happening)

—-

You can still buy the Wax Idols cassette from PSYCHIC SNERTS here. The debut 7″ “All Too Human,” released in April, can be picked up from HoZac Records. If you’d rather have the digital form, you can purchase the songs, which includes “William Says,” from iTunes. The video for “All Too Human” — which shows scenes from around the Mission and includes band cameos from Magic Bullets and Weekend — premiered on Betty and is posted below.

mp3:
Wax Idols // “Bat Cave”

video:
Wax Idols
// “All Too Human”

Comments are closed.